me

In order for a writer to engage his/her/their readers, you must know something about them (even if it’s about having a fetish with feet). Just so you know, I do not have a fetish with feet, and have no desire in having one at all. 

1.) I AM A CAMPAIGNER (ENFP-T)

If you have no idea what the mbti test is, take it. The test tells what type of person you are through the choices you make as you answer the questions. It’s pretty interesting and very spot on. 

I am a Campaigner, and I couldn’t help but be taken back by the accuracy the test had. It was kind of mind blowing.

Now, I do not want to go in depth of my personality result, just because it is sort of awkward to me to write how “free-spirited” I am. 

https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test

2.) I AM A VEGETARIAN

It sounds cliche because – I mean, who isn’t a vegetarian or vegan nowadays, but today marks my one year anniversary of being one.

I enjoy being a vegetarian – I enjoy it a lot. Being a vegetarian feels as if not only am I saving an animal’s life, but also influencing others to take account of what the many downfalls that has happened and will continue to happen if we do not make a change. Respecting other’s choices and perspectives is so important, so I am not by any means forcing or will force into being a vegetarian. It’s up to you to decide whether you want to make a difference in the world. (I promise this is not an ad.)

Being a vegetarian is not easy. First, since my body could not get the proper proteins and nutrients, I stuck with eating so much beans, nuts, and cheese – and yes, I do for a fact, know that cheese come from an animal so it still practically counts. I am not a vegan yet, but I do plan on working on it. My parents did suggest the idea of trying out “fake meats”, but honestly, I was not thrilled about that.

Often, I got scolded from family members telling me that I was already skinny enough and that I didn’t need to go on a “diet”. But it wasn’t a diet to me; it was helping the world by helping make a change because truthfully, we are destroying it. My grandpa was actually the one that didn’t really support my eating lifestyle, and because of him being such an important person in my life, it affected my decisions greatly and I almost started eating meat again. But, I do think he realized it was a part of me so he eventually gave up, knowing that I was truly passionate about this, and continues to send me messages, reminding me to eat before I do my homework.

Second, it depends on your culture. It’s already hard enough getting used to not eating meat, but getting used to not eating kare-kare? It was definitely a challenge. I come from a Filipino background with a parent from the Philippines and another from Guam, so that meant that I ate Filipino food every single day. I was totally okay with it though. As I soon started my new eating lifestyle, it was hard – very hard, but I always remembered the billions and billions of animals we took the life of, and soon it felt natural to me.

Last, being a vegetarian is not cheap. This was the only thing that about stopped me from being a vegetarian. I was, and still am the only person in my family that only eats veggies so you could see how tough it was. When my parents went on a grocery trip every two weeks or so, they always had money saved for me especially. Of course, I felt bad, but they assured me that they supported whatever I chose.

Overall, this was a very very significant decision I chose, and I couldn’t be any happier with it. 

3.) I LOVE MUSIC

Music is the universal language – no doubt about it. It’s everywhere, and will always be everywhere. Not only is music so ridiculously amazing to the point where you can’t even explain it in words, but it speaks to the soul. Many say that you can never relate to others unless you’re in their shoes, but that’s exactly how it feels like when you listen to this beautiful thing known as music.

Music influences everything. It influences the way we act, the way we speak, the way we think, the way we present ourselves, – everything. Not only does it reflect ourselves, but it is also a form of communication. Our way of talking to one another, even though we have no clue what we’re saying. That’s why music is the universal language. It speaks to each and every one of us. 

4.) I LOVE TURNING MEMORIES INTO OBJECTS

I wouldn’t call myself a photographer. I still have a lot to learn, and it was recently when I’ve found this passion. I was never one to like taking pictures, or be in pictures at all. I was the type to “live in the moment” and whatnot, but I’ve soon found out why many found photography entertaining. 

It was actually my auntie and uncle that helped me find my passion. December was the month they brought me along on their breathtaking at more than two national parks. It was so beautiful, I could not not take pictures. It was my auntie that suggested bringing my parent’s camera. It was barely used, – only used for special occasions such as parties, so I took the oppurtunity and certainly did not let it go to waste.  It wasn’t most professional or sophisticated, but it worked, and I didn’t regret bringing that camera at all.

On the trip, I didn’t expect to use it as much as I did. When I wasn’t fixated on the actual mesmorizing piece of nature, my camera was held to my face with a big, cheesy smile spread across my face to the point it hurt. But I loved every milisecond of it. 

5.) I WANT TO TRAVEL

My ultimate dream is to explore the world. Seeing every aspect of the world intigues me. Getting to visit the Umoja tribe in Kenya, Africa or celebrating the Holi spring festival in India seems so exhilarating. There’s so much in the world: too many places to visit, too many things to comprehend. I want to experience all of that. 

I do not want to be traveler. I want to travel. Being a traveler and just travelling are to completely different things. From one side of a scale to another, it’s completely different. To me, being a traveler means physically planning about 2 years beforehand, only bringing the things that are needed, basically the ultimate travel packing checklist. You’re essentially a pro. On the other hand, just travelling is being spontaneous: bringing things you definitely do not need, but learning afterwards what you’ll actually need next time, and spending more money than needed. That’s what I want to do. 

It sounds far-fetched. I always thought that in order to travel you needed to plan 2 years before or bring the things you only needed, but that’s not always the easiest. 

The world is full of people – people wanting to make a difference in the world, people not wanting to have anything to do with it, and people that just want to live their lives to the fullest. It’s just the way life is. 

But why be ordinary when you can be unique? Why be the same as your idol when that’s only going to make you less different? Why be the same as the “most popular” girl when all that’s going to cause is insecurities? Why be like somebody else when you’re your own person? You have your own body, your own personality, your own mind, your own heart, your own world – your own world that you see in the eyes of your own eyes, your own world that you can change with your own choices. 

It’s sad to see so many people similar, when all they want is to fit in. It’s disheartening how much not only social media and the internet does to degrade and manipulate humans, but how humans as well degrade their own species because of the way they dress, or they way they see things, or the way they act.

It’s so heartbreaking seeing humans judge another with no utter knowledge of the person, but with what they see on the outside and from what they see they do not like. 

 

 

 

 

